Coal-plant bill clears Kansas House – KC Star

Coal-plant bill clears Kansas House
Kansas City Star, The (MO)-February 20, 2008
Author: DAVID KLEPPER, The Star’s Topeka correspondent

TOPEKA | Let the arm-twisting begin.

The Kansas House passed a bill Tuesday to clear the way for a western Kansas coal plant expansion, but without the high level of support required to withstand a possible veto by the governor.

Passage of the bill, SB 327, nevertheless is a victory for Sunflower Electric Power Corp., the utility that hopes to build two large coal-burning generators at its existing plant near Holcomb, Kan.

A state regulator rejected the project last year, citing climate-change concerns. The bill would strip the power the official used to block the plant and allow Sunflower to try again.

The House voted 77-45 in favor of the bill. The Senate approved similar legislation last week 33-7. Now, lawmakers from both chambers will work out the differences in the bills.

Supporters will use the time to try to build support in the House in the event of a veto by Gov. Kathleen Sebelius. A two-thirds majority in both chambers is required to override a veto. Right now it appears the House is several votes shy.

Metro area lawmakers were split on the issue. Here’s how they voted:

Republicans voting yes: Anthony Brown, Eudora; Jeff Colyer, Ben Hodge, Tim Owens and Kevin Yoder, all of Overland Park; Mike Kiegerl, Lance Kinzer, Rob Olson and Arlen Siegfreid, all of Olathe; Owen Donohoe and Judy Morrison, both of Shawnee; Ray Merrick, Stilwell; and Kenny Wilk, Lansing.

Democrats voting yes: Mike Peterson, Kansas City, Kan.; Candy Ruff, Leavenworth.

Republicans voting no: Pat Colloton, Leawood; Ronnie Metsker and Sheryl Spalding, both of Overland Park; Kay Wolf, Prairie Village; Terrie Huntington, Fairway; and Jill Quigley and Ron Worley, both of Lenexa.

Democrats voting no: Tom Burroughs, Stan Frownfelter, Broderick Henderson, Margaret Long, Louis Ruiz and Valdenia Winn, all of Kansas City, Kan.; Marti Crow, Leavenworth; Cindy Neighbor, Shawnee; and Sue Storm and Gene Rardin, both of Overland Park.

@ Go to for a video report.

Edition: 1
Section: NEWS
Page: B3

Provided By: Knight-Ridder Digital
Index Terms: POLITICS; Sunflower Electric Power Corp.
Location(s): TOPEKA; Kansas; Lansing; Kansas City, Kan Personal Name(s): Kathleen Sebelius; Anthony Brown; Jeff Colyer; Ben Hodge; Tim Owens; Kevin Yoder; Lance Kinzer; Rob Olson; Arlen Siegfreid; Owen Donohoe; Judy Morrison; Ray Merrick; Kenny Wilk; Mike Peterson; Candy Ruff; Ronnie Metsker; Sheryl Spalding; Kay Wolf; Terrie Huntington; Jill Quigley; Ron Worley; Tom Burroughs; Broderick Henderson; Margaret Long; Louis Ruiz; Marti Crow; Cindy Neighbor; Sue Storm; Gene Rardin Record Number: 200802200001KNRIDDERMOKCITYS_coal_022008
Copyright (c) 2008 The Kansas City Star